FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

We are collecting common questions from our users on this page. Also try the floreysoft user forum, or the Shared Groups Google+ community.

Please check if your question is answered here before posting to our group.

General Questions

I've bought an enterprise license, but when logging in to www.sharedgroups.com the license is not showing up.

Did you buy an enterprise edition license? Most likely you are still logging in to the public edition. You will find your enterprise edition at a different URL!
See Enterprise Edition for details.

What happens if I remove a shared contact from a shared group?

The contact will be removed from the shared group but remains in the "All contacts" group.

To remove a contact from a group do not click on the "Delete" button but use the "Remove from group" dropdown in the Google contact manager!

I've changed the permissions for my users to read-only, but they still can edit the contacts!

If you change a subscriber of a shared group to read-only, no changes or deletions of this user will be distributed to other subscribers. But there is no way to prevent them from making changes or delete shared contacts in their Google contact manager. If they make changes or delete shared contacts in the Google contact manager, these contacts will get reverted on the next sync run.

What happens if I share a contact to other users that already have this contact?

When sharing a contact the contact gets a unique ID before getting distributed to all other subscribers of the shared group. When another subscriber already has a personal contact with the same data, he will end up with both the private contact and the shared contact. To avoid confusion it makes sense to have only a single source for the shared contacts and to remove them from all other account before starting to share the contacts

I have some duplicate contacts. What happens if I merge them in the Google contact manager?

If you merge duplicates in the Google contact manager, one of these contacts gets deleted and the other one gets modified. If you have duplicate contacts in multiple accounts you should never apply the "find and merge duplicates" function in different accounts at the same time. Just merge the contacts in one of the accounts and wait for the sync to distribute the merge.

What happens if I do not extend the trial?

If you do not upgrade to the full version none of your contacts get deleted! Once your trial runs out no more changes will get synchronized. As soon as you extend the subscription the contacts will get synchronized again.

Enterprise Edition

I've been using the public version of Shared Groups to test the app. Now I want to buy and use the enterprise edition. What do I have to do?

The enterprise edition uses a completely separated environment to run. To migrate from public to enteprise edition, please perform the following steps:

  • Unshare the groups in the public edition
    1. Login to the public edition at http://www.sharedgroups.com with the owner of the shared groups

      Make sure you are not getting redirected to your enterprise edition!

    2. Select all your shared groups, click on Remove and select Keep groups when prompted.
      This will just unshare the groups but will not touch any groups/contacts in GMail.
    3. Shared Groups will now unshare your groups. Please wait for some time to let Shared Groups remove all old data. Depending on the number of contacts and groups this may take up to half an hour.

  • Share the groups again in the enterprise edition
    1. Login to your enterprise edition
    2. Select the shared groups that you want to share
    3. Add the subscribers to the newly shared groups

Where do I find my enterprise edition?

Your enterprise edition can be found at https://[app-id].appspot.com
You can find your app-id in the market. You can go to your enterprise edition right from the market by clicking on the app icon in the subscription section.
If you have installed Shared Groups from the Google Apps Marketplace you will also find a link to your enterprise edition in the Google menu.

I'm running Enterprise Edition but when I login to the application I do not see the Administration tab

Only users that are added as Developer or Owner of the application will get the Administration tab when logging in to the application. If you want to get the Administration tab for another user, please follow these steps:

  • Login to Google App Engine and and select the Permissions menu on the left.
  • Add the email address of the user you want to add. If you add this user as Owner he will be able to add other users as well.
  • The user will receive an email to accept the invitation. Once the invitation is accepted the user will see the Administration tab the next time he logs in to the Shared Groups application.

What are the recommended settings on Google App Engine to avoid running out of quota?

If you are running Shared Groups Enterprise Edition you should tweak the settings on Google App Engine to get the most out of the free quota.

Please login to Google App Engine and and select the Application Settings menu on the left.

Move the Idle Instances slider(s) to the left and the Pending Latency slider(s) to the right and click on Save Setting.

Now login to your Shared Groups application with an administrator account and switch to the Administration tab.

Reduce the sync frequency to Once per day for some days to get a feeling of how many resources get consumed by each sync run. The consumed resources mostly depend on the number of subscribers and the number of modifications that have to be distributed.
As the initial sync is the most resource consuming operation it may be a good idea to turn on billing for some days to get the initial sync done and to turn off billing once you figured out the proper settings for your domain to stay within the free quota.

How enable billing

If you are running the Enterprise Edition of Shared Groups it is highly recommended to enable billing to assure that the system can work properly. Login to Google App Engine and click on Enable Billing on the left. If you have not enabled billing, the page will look like shown on the screenshot.

Click on the Enable Billing button to get to the next page.

You can keep the defaults to $2.00 daily budget as you'll only get charged for resources consumed.

Make sure to adjust your application settings as described in the previous paragraph!
Proceed to Google Checkout to authorize your settings and to activate billing.

What happens if the quota gets exceeded?

You should avoid this scenario by any means! If the app engine quota gets exceeded your contact data may get corrupted and you'll experience bad surprises! Contacts can get copied multiple times and lead to duplicates on the next day. Some other contacts may not get distributed at all.

Will my contact data be stored on floreysoft servers?

No, our applications runs on Google's infrastructure. You are in charge to grant permissions to anyone, who want to get access to be able to check the logs etc. The contact details will be stored in the datastore in Blobs on Google App Engine you'll not be able to see them in the datastore viewer even if you have administrator privileges.